It’s been two years…TWO YEARS…since I’ve posted any thoughts of any kind.  It’s not that I’ve not had thoughts of any kind, it’s just I’ve not been at all sure they were worth posting. 😉  But here I am again, flinging words into cyberspace, wondering if after two years anyone still follows or reads these posts.  And instead of my usually wordy-wordy posts that violate the cardinal rule of the blog-o-sphere that “shorter is better”, I’ll try to keep in mind the old saw that “brevity is the soul of wit.”

Now, introducing “The Pentecostal Bubble”.

The bubble…a self-reinforcing cycle of beliefs and practices that’s protective, that’s comforting.  Every distinctive group at some point forms a bubble, whether intending to or not.  Upper class white people from Westchester have their own bubble, and it’s their world.  They live in certain neighborhoods in mansions, make high six and seven figure salaries, send their kids to private schools, who graduate and attend Ivy League universities.  They drive BMW’s or Lexus, and talk about yachts and horses on the golf course.  It’s their bubble.  It’s their world.

Pentecostals have a bubble; a self-reinforcing cycle of beliefs and practices.  And like all bubbles, our particular bubble seems to consist of three main elements, and those elements all connect and feed off one another.  Over the course of the next few days, I’ll be posting thoughts about the three elements of our “Pentecostal Bubble”.  I hope you take a few moments to read them.

And to think.

Comments
  1. David LaLiberte says:

    Good to see you back. I’m looking forward to read your latest.

  2. Lindsay says:

    I was pleasantly surprised to get the latest post in my inbox…I’ll be reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

